Wild n’ Wacky Week “won”

Standard

I didn’t know what to expect in this class but I enjoyed the format. It seems like it will be a lot of work but worth the effort in the end. I successfully created my first blog https://number1fio.wordpress.com. Why number1fio you ask? It’s actually my old aim handle from the 90′s and I continue to use it whenever I need a screen name for anything. My favorite number and softball and volleyball jersey number at the time was 1 and fio was short for my last name before I got married. The full blog creation article can be found here.

I enjoyed the ideas that share stories assignments and posted my blog here. I selected Major League as the “epic” story to analyze. I created a Vonnegut timeline with baseballs signifying key points in the plot. Overall it was a little cheesy but educational.  In case anyone has not seen Major League, first of all you should. Second here is the story spine:

  • A story spine is a technique used to give stories their shape. I will provide an example of the Major League story spine.
  •  Once upon a time, there was a washed up old ball player named Jake Taylor.
  • Every day, he drank too much and played baseball on a no name team in Mexico.
  • But one day, the Cleveland Indians called him up and asked him to come to spring training.
  • Because of that, he flew up to Cleveland and attended spring training and ran into his ex-girlfriend.
  • Because of that, he made the team and played baseball with a rag tag bunch of ball players and perused his ex-girlfriend.
  • Because of that, he managed to find ground with the ball players and unite the team together.
  • Until finally, the team wins the pennant and he gets the girl.
  • And ever since then, he lived happily ever after with his girlfriend, or at least we are left to think that.

I enjoyed watching Ira Glass and Tim Stanton’s videos about storytelling. The key aspects of storytelling they provided that can be used today are:

  • Timing and inflection are important. The story has to be interesting enough to draw the audience in. Let them know the story will lead someplace. Everything from the first sentence should lead up to a singular goal.
  • The story should include a mix of anticipation with uncertainty. Hint but don’t give everything away at once. Keep them wanting more.
  • The audience needs to understand what’s in it for them and why they are there and care. They commonly want to know what’s in it for me. This should ideally be some reaffirm a truth or deepen their understanding. I’d take it another step and say, to solve a problem or teach them something.

If you would like to view my entire blog, please click here.

And last but not least. My final project idea is still la work in progress but I have a few general ideas. I don’t think it should be anything that’s a step-by step procedure such as a recipe or manual. I think it should be something that that audience needs to be persuaded to perform or chose one option over another, more or an idea then a process. One idea I have is a teenager telling the story of how he saved his friends life performing CPR and walk through the steps of what he did in a dramatic fashion.  I love medical shows and they always draw me in and don’t know much about medicine myself so something like that seems like it could translate well as a story.

One thought on “Wild n’ Wacky Week “won”

  1. You’ve done really well for Week Won- the blog has all the elements I hope to see, including the categories and menus, and you are already doing well to link to related content, and even toss in graphics to your writing.

    You should be in good shape to rev up through weeks 2 and 3. The final summary does not need to repeat what’s in your posts; its fine to paraphrase it or highlight what you got out (or did not) of the assignment. Your writing is the closest I can do to peering insider your brain!

Leave a Reply

